About Us

Advisory Committee


Peru Opportunity Fund is fortunate to benefit from the input of a select group of volunteer advisors who share our commitment to helping improve the lives of small farmers in Peru. These leaders in their fields provide us insights through the lens of their experiences. They have helped us refine our strategy, and they advise us on the opportunities and risks our projects face within the context of the Peruvian economy, social trends, political landscape and environment. We convene a new group of advisors every year to allow for new perspectives, and our past advisors continue to offer their support and expertise.

Peru Opportunity Fund Advisors, in alphabetical order:

Roberto Beltrán Bravo, former executive director of AgroRural 2005-2010
Jose Chlimper Ackerman,* president of Agrokasa
María Paz Cigarán,* founding member of the consultancy Libélula
Fernando Cillóniz Benavides,* founder and president of Inform@ccion  
Héctor Cisneros,* director for Peru of the Office National des Forets (ONF) Andina
Carmen Felipe Morales, vice president of the National Acacemy of Science and Technology (ANCYT)
Juan Gil Ruiz, executive director of Fondo de Las Américas
Rosario Gómez Gamarra,* former deputy minister of Strategic Development of Natural Resources in the Peruvian Ministry of the Environment 2009-2011
Carlos Loret de Mola, director of the Tintaya Foundation, former president of the National Environment Council
Carlos Paredes Gonzales, founder of the Institute for Alternative Agriculture (IAA), creator of Sierra Productiva program
Luis Paz Silva, former dean of Economy and Planning at the National Agrarian University La Molina, president of the Foundation for National Development
Carlos Ríos Henckell,* director of Edpyme Alternativa, head of microfinance in COPEME
Pedro Miguel Schiaffino, innovative chef and owner of MALABAR and Amaz  
Roberto Ugás,* professor and researcher at the National Agrarian University La Molina, consultant on organic agriculture
Richard Webb, economist and researcher, director of the Peruvian Institute at the University of San Martín de Porres, former president of the Central Reserve Bank of Peru

*current members